Exchange Student | Slate

Hoy publiqué mi primera nota en Slate, sobre las cuentas que hay que hacer para ser corresponsal freelance en Nueva York. Empieza así:

Over the last year, the dollar lost ground against most major
currencies, and as a New York-based foreign correspondent, I took the
news like other people would celebrate a raise or a promotion. Many
people spend part of their breakfasts checking the Dow or their mutual
funds—I look at the euro and the Mexican peso. I need to know the
exchange rate to figure out how much I'll be paid.

During
the five years that I've been living in New York, the fortunes of my
bank account have been affected by the ups and downs of the dollar just
as much as by the highs and lows of the economy or problems in the
magazine industry. I have learned to be alert: If the euro is strong
against the dollar, I should milk my Spanish clients as much as I can,
because a piece that pays a paltry sum in euros represents a new jacket
for me. When the trend moves in the other direction, and the dollar is
king, as was the case a year ago, it's usually bad news. Those are the
times when I have to use my exchange-rate-victim speech: "This
euro-dollar thing has gotten crazy," I e-mail across the Atlantic. "Why
don't we just set the price of the forthcoming pieces in dollars? You
know, until the whole situation clears up." (That last caveat is
essential, because it lets me switch back to euros when things change.)

[ El resto de la nota lo pueden encontrar acá. ]

1 comment
  1. gracias a Dios por intiresny